## Measures of National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University for the Establishment of the Environmental Protection, Safety, and Health Committee

Passed by the 4th Administrative Meeting of the University's 109<sup>th</sup> academic year on April 28, 2021,

- Article 1. To maintain the quality of the campus environment, prevent occupational disasters, and protect the safety of faculty, staff, and students, National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University (hereinafter referred to as "the University") establishes the Environmental Protection, Safety, and Health Committee (hereinafter referred to as "the Committee") in accordance with the laws and regulations related to environmental protection, occupational safety, and health and formulates these Measures.
- Article 2. The Committee's mission is to review, coordinate, and put forward recommendations on the following matters:
  - 1. Environmental protection policies and related operations;
  - 2. Safety and health policies and related operations;
  - 3. Toxic chemical substances and related business;
  - 4. Radiation protection and related business;
  - 5. Bio-experimental safety and related business;
  - 6. Controlled substances and related business.
- Article 3. The Committee shall comprise 24 members as follows:
  - 1. The Chairman shall be served by the President of the University;
  - 2. The Vice Chairman shall be served by the Vice President of the University;
  - 3. The Member and Executive Secretary shall be served by the Director of the Environmental Safety Center;
  - 4. Ex-officio members shall be served by the Environmental Safety Center's Campus Center Director, General Affairs Director, Human Resources Director, Head of Security Team, and Gueiren Campus Director in Tainan;
  - 5. Selected members: The Chairman shall select one person each with expertise in biochemistry, radiation prevention, and drug control from the Yang Ming campus and one person each with expertise in chemical safety, environmental engineering, electromechanics, biotechnology, and engineering from the Chiao Tung campus as members.
  - 6. Delegated members: Eight members shall be delegated by the University's labor force.

Ex-officio members' terms shall be adjusted in accordance with their post; selected members shall serve a two-year term that may be renewed if they are re-selected. If any labor force delegate is re-elected or replaced, the new labor force delegate shall take over.

Article 4. The Committee may set up the following working groups or committees in accordance with the business need, with operating focuses and methods being set up separately by each individual working group:

- 1. Environmental Protection Working Group;
- 2. Safety and Health Working Group;
- 3. Radiation Protection Working Group;
- 4. Drug Control Working Group;
- 5. Toxic Chemical Substances Management Committee.
- Article 5. The Committee shall meet once every three months and may hold *ad hoc* meetings when necessary.
- Article 6. The Committee may invite relevant entities to attend its meetings as necessary.
- Article 7. These Measures, including any amendments thereto, shall be implemented following review and approval by the Administrative Meeting.